Caught a bus today

I caught a bus to work today.

It turned up on time, it cost me $1.70 and it took me to a real bus station in the city rather than a crowded and chaotic street.  Even stranger, I can get a pass that I can use on the bus, train or ferry without having to get separate tickets or passes.

As you might guess from this, I am not in Sydney today.

I am in Perth for two weeks running training courses – and over here they seem to believe that public transport is a good idea and consequently invest a significant amount in providing what seems to be a pretty good infrastructure.

Wouldn’t it be great if Sydney, which claims to be Australia’s premier city was able to provide the kind of effective and economical travel that is available in a city of half the size.

About James King

I coach organisations in how to better make use of the untapped talent they have in their people and to explore new ways of understanding and solving new and old problems I live in Sydney with my wife and daughter and have no real hobbies beyond the usual boring ones of reading, writing and watching tv.
This entry was posted in random waffle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

