Kudos to WordPress for thinking about accessibility

As most of my readers know – I have a worldwide readership of up to 7 people in a year on this blog.

So I do not have a large budget for usability testing, accessibility testing etc.

Yet I have managed to have my professional blog tested to see whether it is accessible to blind people and people who have very limited eyesight.

I had a student in a class who was visually impaired and we talked about blogs.  He said he reads them by using “screen reader software” which seems pretty obvious once he mentioned it.

I have to admit I had not given any thought to accessibility on my blog.  The good news is that I have still managed to exceed the standards adopted by most organisations – but the bad news is that most companies don’t know what they are doing so the industry standard in practice is to stuff the whole thing up.

All I did was publish my blog in WordPress on the assumption that they would host it and it would be easy to use.  It turns out that they also think about security, easy maintenance and accessability.

So kudos to WordPress for being on top of something I had not even thought about and that many companies fail at.  It is good to know that I can come in as a customer of WordPress and expect them to think of “those things relevant to bloggers” without me needing to research all the aspects of web publishing myself.

About James King

I coach organisations in how to better make use of the untapped talent they have in their people and to explore new ways of understanding and solving new and old problems I live in Sydney with my wife and daughter and have no real hobbies beyond the usual boring ones of reading, writing and watching tv.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

