What is wrong with old movies

I recently Dogma, which I also saw a long time ago

When I saw it a long time ago it was really really funny, but when I saw it recently it was “OK but hardly mind blowing”.

This is a trend I have noticed with a number of shows –

– I saw Charlie’s Angels and Magnum recently and they seemed a little lame (the Angles more than Magnum).  I put this down to them being dated.

– I saw The Goodies, which I tried really hard to like (but failed) and I even saw an episode of The Young Ones a year ago.  Again they didn’t seem as cool as they used to be.

– Finally I saw an episode of Southpark and it turned out to be lame rather than cutting edge and shocking.

Since I am having a year of continuous improvement ,I am focussed on improving the inner zen nature of enjoying TV (If you missed previous bogs – my theme for the year is cts improvement and I have decided to focus mostly on the key areas that will impact my life – my relationships with those close to me, my ability to deliver extraordinary customer service and watching TV).

So my dilemma now is to find out if :

– My tastes have changed as I matured.

– TV shows are so much better now that the old ones seem poor by comparison.

– There is some evil force out of the X files that is sucking the mojo out of old tapes.  Thus leaving them devoid of coolness, hilarity and fun.

On balance, there is probably about the same amount of evidence to support each of the three hypothesis.  So I will have to investigate further over the coming months.

Frighteningly though, I saw a couple of episodes of Frasier and Scrubs that were brilliant – and they were both really old.  So a logical assessment of the evidence would suggest that the last hypothesis is the most likely.

Can you let me know if you have any evidence or hypothesis that will guide me on my path to finding my inner zen or experiencing more  enlightened television watching?

About James King

I coach organisations in how to better make use of the untapped talent they have in their people and to explore new ways of understanding and solving new and old problems I live in Sydney with my wife and daughter and have no real hobbies beyond the usual boring ones of reading, writing and watching tv.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is wrong with old movies

  1. i have witnessed the exact same phenomenon. hundreds of rolf harrises running around in a goodies episode was the funniest thing i had ever seen back in the day. then i rewatched it a couple of years ago and didn’t laugh at all.

    same thing with the d-generation.

    i’m wondering if there is some kind of transference of awesomeness that occurs over time. maybe the shows that sucked balls back then have benefited from the transference and are now super hilarious?

    are you being served?
    the facts of life?
    just the ten of us?

Leave a Reply

