Even dinosaurs have brand consultants now days

I read in the paper that we have discovered a new Australian dinosaur.  The first thing I noticed was that he/she is far more colourful than dinosaurs discovered in previous years.

I am not sure of the sophisticated techniques scientists use to see the patterns and skin tones of a fossil, so I may be jumping to conclusions.  But I suspect the colouring is more to do with the “new” dino’s PR team.  The dinosaur appears well muscled, trim and quite similar to the cooler set seen in Jurassic park.

Even the name is marketing genius.  To his friends (regular fans and groupies) he has the approachable name of “Banjo” (I am now assume he is a he because I don’t think Banjo is a girl’s name, but again I am just assuming).

Beyond this though, his name is Austra-lovenator.  I can’t think of a cooler name for an ancient beast than “the lovenator”.

All the other dinosaurs must be getting back to their agents this week to either try to get associated with him or rush out some of their own press.  But they are too late.  The Lovenator’s website already has him pictured next to a Charlie’s angel like silhouette of a woman he is chatting to at some undisclosed nightclub; he already has the name and he is breaking new territory with his his modern styling and colour scheme.

Kudos to his team and sympathy to the old dinosaurs who look they will soon be going the way of the dinosaurs if they can’t grasp the concept that brand is everything to the modern dinosaur.

About James King

I coach organisations in how to better make use of the untapped talent they have in their people and to explore new ways of understanding and solving new and old problems I live in Sydney with my wife and daughter and have no real hobbies beyond the usual boring ones of reading, writing and watching tv.
This entry was posted in Interesting, random waffle. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Even dinosaurs have brand consultants now days

  1. Trish says:

    Well Done! I don’t take lightly to people making fun of my hard work… But this is bloody funny! No I’m not his agent! I’m his security guard!

  2. James King says:

    hee hee. And it looks like other dinosaurs are already trying to outdo Banjo. http://abluteau.wordpress.com/2009/03/18/fossil-hints-at-fuzzy-dinosaurs/
    On a slightly more serious note though, good luck with the museum – I would love to go to an Australian Dino/natural history Museum

Leave a Reply

