Good and bad accomodation

More information you really didn’t need to know, or would like to have in a more convenient place than hidden in some waffle …

I have been travelling a bit lately delivering training and I have been noticing the difference between serviced apartments.

I stayed in “M on Mary” in Brisbane and I have to say it was excellent. 

– The price was good (which makes my clients happy since I pass the cost on to them)

– The room is clean and very comfortable; and

– The location was convenient and the people are friendly.

The only odd thing was that there was no toaster in the kitchen – which cuts my recipe selection for self-cooked meals in half. 

So if you are in Brisbane then I can recommend you stay there and tell them some guy called James said it was a good idea … unless you are a wild and out of control rock band who are going to trash the place, in which case it is probably preferable if you don’t mention I sent you.

But the place I stayed in Melbourne this week was not as good.  It had a better reception area than “M” but the room was a little tacky.  My key didn’t work on entry, a pile of the cups and cutlery were still in the dishwasher so I had to look for a teaspoon, the ironing board was slightly bent and the runner didn’t work … and the clock was 12 hours off the right time. 

Fortunately for future guests I was there before them.  I used my advanced engineering skills to fix the ironing board and then I reset the clock.  You wouldn’t actually notice the clock was 12 hours out since, for example 7 o’clock still appears to be 7 O’clock.  But it could be a bit sad if you use the alarm function and its 12 hours out.  So I am glad to have made the world a better place once more

… unless of course the next guest is a bank robber …  and he manages to rob a bank because he had a well-ironed shirt, woke up in time and escaped the police.  Then maybe my actions were not so good.  Unless of course, nobody is hurt and he realises the error of his ways and becomes a saint and does great good in the world all because he robbed a bank and felt guilty.  In which case I can probably sleep well knowing I played a part in so much good happening.

About James King

I coach organisations in how to better make use of the untapped talent they have in their people and to explore new ways of understanding and solving new and old problems I live in Sydney with my wife and daughter and have no real hobbies beyond the usual boring ones of reading, writing and watching tv.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

