On the importance of colour

When I was a kid we all got tested to see if we are colour blind.  Fortunately I came out with perfect colour vision.

I actually have excellent perception of different colours.  But the test didn’t cover taste, and I am not sure I would score so well there.  In fact someone at work once asked if I was colour blind because of the unique colour selection I had on a diagram.

So when I am heading out I will often encounter my wife who will optimise my colour coordination with a loving mix of subtle hints and sharp whacks with a piece of bamboo (kidding mum). 

Unfortunately Santhi is asleep and probably won’t respond well to being shaken awake to see if my shoes go with my belt or if a heavilly feathered cap would set my attire off perfectly 

… and I still have time to hunt galahs and look up hat-making on the web if to create such a cap if it is needed, though I also lack hat making needles and felt, so that may be an impractical idea after all .

What I probably need is either a course in the bleeding obvious impacts of colour, or a book on it, or a new invention that assesses and coordinates colours for me.  So if anyone knows where I can obtain a solution for my sub-optimal chromatic tendencies then please let me know.

About James King

I coach organisations in how to better make use of the untapped talent they have in their people and to explore new ways of understanding and solving new and old problems I live in Sydney with my wife and daughter and have no real hobbies beyond the usual boring ones of reading, writing and watching tv.
This entry was posted in random waffle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

