Now the work begins

I am waiting for a session to start on writing resumes.  I came armed with my latest shot at a resume, which has been reviewed by a guru who politely used phrases like “you should think about it before your write it”.  I have taken on board some of what she said, but it turns out to be hard work thinking about your career and your strengths and your value to the market in 2 pages.

It would be great if they give me some magic acronym to remember that automatically gives me a great marketing document.  But I suspect it is more like hard work and thinking.

Ah well, I have had it pretty easy job search during the last week so I should have to do some work now.  On Friday night I went to farewell drinks and on Saturday I sat on the verandah sipping tea while updating my diary and jobsearch workbook thing. 

Technically going to drinks counts as networking since someone there might know of a good job and think that seedy guy who just spilled a drink on them might make a good CEO.  And sitting on the verandah relaxing and thinking about myself is what I do for a living now.  I filled out questionaires on my strengths and preferences (I learned for example that I like challenging work and don’t like working with dumb people).

The experience was also made better by the delicious tea I had to drink.  Neha from (old) work gave me a selection of different teas to drink.  So I tried a “white tea” which I have never had before and used the cool asian looking tea pot Santhi gave me.  It was very pleasant tea and a very pleasant experience.

About James King

I coach organisations in how to better make use of the untapped talent they have in their people and to explore new ways of understanding and solving new and old problems I live in Sydney with my wife and daughter and have no real hobbies beyond the usual boring ones of reading, writing and watching tv.
This entry was posted in Job search. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

