Being scared of Zemmiphobia

I heard the phrase Zemmiphobia the other day. So I nodded sagely and looked like I knew what people were talking about. Later at home I googled it and found out it means “Fear of the great mole rat”, which I assumed was a fairly rare condition. 

Since then I have found that the condition may have originated in an episode of Kim Possible.  Since Kim is a cultural icon, the word is now starting to be used “on the street” as a fear of something vague and silly.  Ie as a term that means you are worrying without any due cause.

I am not sure who (other than my “acquaintance of dubious streetwise credibility”) uses street talk like that, or even uses the term street talk.  But my research found that the word is now in the urban dictionary and several websites.

You can also seek help from this affliction from this clever but very worrying website-

    http://www.changethatsrightnow.com/problem_detail.asp?SDID=2082:1932

I suspect the website is intelligent enough to allow you to enter  any affliction including webodubiousophoboia – the fear of being ripped off by dubious offers on websites.  

Looking at the cure for fear of the great mole rat, suggests to me the site could integrate any affliction into its content …  and manufacture an instant marketing campaign and magical cure.  But maybe that’s just my zemmiphobia coming through.

Please let me know if you encounter any potential outbreaks zemmiphobia, or similar afflictions.  Otherwise just add it to your compendium of useful knowledge and be ready to drop it into sentences.

About James King

I coach organisations in how to better make use of the untapped talent they have in their people and to explore new ways of understanding and solving new and old problems I live in Sydney with my wife and daughter and have no real hobbies beyond the usual boring ones of reading, writing and watching tv.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Being scared of Zemmiphobia

  1. tom bosley says:

    trying to decide if i fear the great mole rat more or less than i fear people who fear the great mole rat.

  2. jamesking42 says:

    I think that is ambiviliphobia … or is that phobia ambivilia.

    I am more worried about the idea that other people are worried about people fearing the great mole rat

Leave a Reply

