The true power of the internet

I was in Bolivia many years ago when I met a potato officionado.   

I had a meal which had some rice, a little chicken, chips, mash,big baked potato, refrozen potato and little  boiled potato.  When I asked why there were so many different potatoes, my friend told me that “we like them” and then a waiter came over to debate the virtues of potatoes.

I previously thought potatoes were a simple Irish vegetable, but they come from South America and the waiter told me there are over 1,000 types of Potato in Bolivia – one unique variant for every 3,000 people.  

But he had far more information for me than you would believe …

The more you learn about potatoes the more complex they become – apparently there are actually 12, 548 types of potato and these magical vegetables can become french fries, potato wings, mashed potato, boiled potato and who knows what else.  

But the poor Bolivian waiter doesn’t have the money to go to Europat, the famous European potato convention and has no way to join in the latest debates on the potato corruption scandal in the UK, or the debate around using potatoes as a rice substitute in Bangladesh …. until the arrival of the potato search online website

                                http://www.potatonews.com

I can virtually guarantee you will never know more about potatoes than you can find here.  It may not be the most elegant site, but it is certainly fit for purpose and an ideal too if you want to import chips … or if you want to see the headlines from a very different world to the IT one I inhabit.

Click on the link and have a browse.

 

About James King

I coach organisations in how to better make use of the untapped talent they have in their people and to explore new ways of understanding and solving new and old problems I live in Sydney with my wife and daughter and have no real hobbies beyond the usual boring ones of reading, writing and watching tv.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

