The challenge of cooking after work

My wife recently went back to uni to become a full time science student. 

This has had a few side effects on our household …

Firstly its achallenge to my reign as the expert in anything scientific (its harder to bluff on the basis of skimming New Scientist if you wife is actually studying the subject).

Secondly there is less cash but more relaxation in the house.  Going down to one income is a negative step, but having a wife interested in what she is doing is well worth it.  So if your mortgage is not about to crush you, I recommend trying some study or travel whenever you get sick of work.

The best part has been that I come home after my wife and often find she has cooked dinner.  This is a major bonus compared to both coming home tired and eating take away.  I think we are both already happier and healthier that we were.

But the worst part of study is that you can never motivate yourself to do assignments util they are urgent.  Logic and experience should both teach us that we should do things when we have time, rather than the night before.

And in keeping with this, my poor wife is working through the night on 2 or 3 urgent assignments … which means that I had to actually cook for the first time in weeks. 

Sadly, not cooking for a day or so seems to result in all my experience disappearing  … so I fell back on the trusted toasted sandwiches.  This worked once, but the great challenge will be that Santhi needs to study late tomorrow as well.

Since she doesn’t like baked beans, tuna on toast or any of the cordon-dull stuff I am an expert in, I am going to have to extend myself all the way to reheating some of the pasta sauce she cooked and froze … and even boil pasta.

I am hoping I am up to the challenge, but I have not dared to check if there is a third day of cooking this week, in which case I may have to go all out to do a stir fry or roast, neither of which I have done for a long time.

These are the challenges faced in modern life.

About James King

I coach organisations in how to better make use of the untapped talent they have in their people and to explore new ways of understanding and solving new and old problems I live in Sydney with my wife and daughter and have no real hobbies beyond the usual boring ones of reading, writing and watching tv.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

